Time & Distance of Farming


I’ll apologize in advance for the tone of this entry.  Recent events have made me view things a bit differently about the time and distance of the farm.  Additionally I have not written lately, so I wanted to touch base over recent events.

On December 20th I had received a call that my mother had been rushed to emergency.  I jumped into our car at 4am to make the 5-1/2 hour drive to Northern California.  By the time I had driven two hours, I found out that my mother had died.  I had missed the opportunity to say goodbye to the woman I loved most in the world.

The one thing we don’t realize, as we plan on living a rural lifestyle is that not only are we leaving behind the bustling cities, but we leave behind loved ones who choose to live in those cities.

After the whirl of funeral arrangements, memorial, and the family activity of writing my mother’s obituary, my return to the remoteness of the farm was both a comfort and a curse.  It was Christmas Eve, the house was dark and cold without a single gift under the tree.  Our family made it through primarily by voicing our gratitude for each other over an intimate and lovingly prepared dinner.

There are choices we make in life.  If choosing to life a rural and sustainable lifestyle is yours then keep in mind the distance and time of farming.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Time & Distance of Farming

  1. cshew1 says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. I hope time and the memories of your mom make your pain less. I wanted to let you know that I love your blog posts. They are insightful, provide good advice and are on target for what trying to live a sustainable life entails. This particular post was how I was feeling when I left my visit in California with my mom still ill with pnemonia. I wish you and your family all the best. BTW, we met you and your family on the 2010 farm tour. Your tour was, like your blog, interesting and insightful.

    With much appreciation for sharing your experience,

    Christina

    • Kathleen says:

      Dear Christina,

      Thank you so much for your kindness. I never realized how deeply ingrained my mother’s influence was on my life. I miss her.

      I appreciate your comments on the blog. I write it without really believing that others actually read it. It is always a happy surprise when I received a comment. And yours was such a nice one! Thank you!

      Please let me know when and if you visit the farm again. I’d love to thank you in person.

  2. Genon Murray says:

    I am so sorry about your mom. I fight that battle every day with my mother in the small town in rural NE where I grew up and me all the way in Orlando. I have fought the distance ever since my Dad’s battle with cancer from the opposite side of the fence that you are on. When I got the final tearful phone call from my Dad regarding his acknowledgement that his time was up, I literally turned around and headed back to the airport mid-highway as I made calls to arrange for child care, work, car in Omaha and the like. A kind man in line at the airport gave up his seat on the full flight so I could fly home in the snow storm. I drove across the state as they closed the Interstate behind me and made it to the hospital with family calling and telling me to hurry, just in time to look Dad in the eyes and tell him how much I loved him before he closed them the last time. Our choices regarding the life we want and the life we leave behind create consequences that are difficult to deal with as well as those accomplishments of which we are most proud. I have to believe that your mother was proud that she had raised such a brave and talented daughter who could stand behind the choices she had made, especially when it was most difficult to do so. As a mom, I think that seeing your daughter create a life that makes her happy is the most rewarding part of raising her. You are doing good things in the world. Thank you for sharing the challenges along with the benefits of the life you have chosen. Genon

Leave a Reply

